LAST DAY OF STYLE SCHOOL AND A NEW DAWN FOR ART

Last day of Style School today and I’m wondering how I could take my home and style tips on tour to meet everyone else North of the Border keen to talk interiors.  From cooking fresh soup in the morning, to furiously cleaning before welcoming people who either want to improve their own homes, relate to my design tips or simply love the photos on my blog I love everything about holding Style classes in my home.  It’s uplifting having guests and I love cooking and entertaining and using all the space I have to good effect.

Usually over lunch people start to open up about why they want to radically change their homes for the better.  There are all sorts of reasons and it’s not my place to reveal them here but it does show how transformative redecorating a once sad and neglected space can be and how there’s a lot more to it than a fresh coat of magnolia paint and bad tempered visit to Ikea.

People inherit the most incredible pieces of furniture.  Things you simply can’t buy at auction on in shops.  While I accept that you may have a “look” you want to achieve, it’s still a mistake not to include part of your history and inject personality into your home.

This is why I love the Nordic look.  It reminds me of my Scandinavian heritage, allows me to incorporate my favourite pieces – classic Artichoke lights and snowball tealights with an altogether Scottish theme of Antlers, open fireplaces, and Reindeer rugs (which chime with both countries).  I then mix this with painted Victorian furniture (something Sweden in particular is known for) and black accessories.

None of this would be complete without artwork and here I’m careful to choose local Scottish artists.  I love Shelagh Atkinson’s pencil drawings of dogs and have several Catherine Rayner prints.  My favourite is probably a small portrait by Marion Drummond and a large abstract my Marie Scott.  I wish I had more Hockney posters as I’m a huge fan and actually wanted to create a tile mural of “a Bigger Splash” in my bathroom.

Which reminds me, I’m off to the most amazing Art Gallery opening tonight – Arusha Art in Stafford Street.  No matter how many pieces of art you own, there’s always room for one more.

Image

