Performing best when challenged most

Today I learnt my ex has bought a house 2 streets from where I live.  I marvel that he lacks the common sense and decency not to flaunt his new life, new wife and baby right under my nose.  And can’t believe the former parents-in-law I was so relieved of never ever laying eyes upon again could soon be regular visitors to my neighbourhood.

“To hell with him,” I think.  If he wants to live on top of me in Morningside so be it.  Let him replicate our sorry existence with a shiny younger thing.  Let us bump into one another at the supermarket.  I have a fledgling online brand and business that I can run from anywhere and have genuinely moved on.  I feel sorry for him having yet more children when he cared so little for the 2 he already has and was routinely absent from their upbringing, embarrassingly self-centred and generally abhorrent to all who encountered him back them.

Life’s too short to dwell on narcissists you wished you’d never met.  And I’m reminded of the speech by Dr. Martin Luther King.

“Let us not seek to satisfy our thirst for freedom by drinking from the cup of bitterness and hatred. . . We must forever conduct our struggle on the high plane of dignity and discipline. We must not allow our creative protest to degenerate into physical violence. Again and again we must rise to the majestic heights of meeting physical force with soul force.

As we walk, we must make the pledge that we shall always march ahead. We cannot turn back.

I say to you  . . . I have a dream that my four little children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin but by the content of their character.

I have a dream today.

I have a dream that one day every valley shall be exalted, every hill and mountain shall be made low, the rough places will be made plain, and the crooked places will be made straight, and the glory of the Lord shall be revealed, and all flesh shall see it together.

 . . . With this faith we will be able to work together, to pray together, to struggle together, to go to jail together, to stand up for freedom together, knowing that we will be free one day.

Let freedom ring from the curvaceous slopes of California!

And when this happens, when we allow freedom to ring, when we let it ring from every village and every hamlet, from every state and every city, we will be able to speed up that day when all of God’s children, black men and white men, Jews and Gentiles, Protestants and Catholics, will be able to join hands and sing in the words of the old Negro spiritual, “Free at last! free at last! thank God Almighty, we are free at last!”

California here I come!

Image

