Hanky panky

There’s something about bedrooms and what goes on there that makes them the most luxuriously romantic rooms in my house.  All but one of them has chandeliers, because I figure if you’re going to strip off after 40, romantic, flattering light’s a must.  These days I spend more time watching movies in bed snuggled up with my children but still I never want the lighting to be harsh or mirrors I can see my naked self in.

A lack of romantic allure is why I spent most of yesterday morning failing to find the perfect inky blue for my guest bedroom.  I’m looking for something really dark and subtle with the slightest hint of green.  Everything I source is either too bright, or too dull or too flat.  I want a deep blue with several layers of colour that gives a different inky hue depending on the light. Ethereal by day.  Illustrious by night.

I couldn’t put my finger on why this bedroom wasn’t working until I realised I’d made the classic mistake of decorating for the sake of decorating.  I hadn’t done my homework and had hastily redecorated because I didn’t like what was there.  Instead I should have thought what the room is used for, considered when it will be occupied and how low my guests will dim the lights.

I’m not quite sure what I was thinking holding sample colours to bedroom walls during the day since this is not the time of day I should be decorating for.  Instead I should have shut the blinds, dimmed the lights and decided what looked good when I was watching TV in bed.

Decorating rooms to look their best at times of the day when they’re unlikely to be occupied is much more common than you’d think.  Even amongst professionals.  So if there’s one ceiling you’re thinking of experimenting with, make it the guest bedroom or better yet a north facing bedroom you’ve been struggling to get right.  Paint it as dark a colour as you dare (I’m painting mine dark blue if I can ever find the perfect colour).  Your guests will thank you for it in the morning.

http://abigailahern.files.wordpress.com/2013/01/abbi020_0433.jpg

Abigail Ahern’s bedroom

