If not now, when?

Late start today as I squeeze in an extra long run after enjoying one too many sips of wine last night catching up with Homeland.  Walking back from Arthur’s seat I bump into friend and neighbour Joy, en route to interview a graduate for the internship programme she runs.  We have a heated debate on whether intern’s should be paid or not and I stick firmly to my belief that I’d only ever take an intern with sufficient drive, initiative and energy to have an evening or weekend job allowing them to focus on their dream career by day.  She puts a good case for why all interns should be paid while I ponder how celebrity and X Factor makes work shy Divas of us all.

I worked briefly for an interior designer once and soon realised cashflow problems meant she couldn’t actually afford to pay me.  I was having the best weeks of my life, painting furniture, helping with deliveries, ordering product and thinking of displays, so I cut back my expenditure and didn’t let the lack of funds bother me. Work was such fun I didn’t need holidays and that’s when the penny dropped and I decided to start my own interiors business.

Taking money out of the equation releases creativity.  I work with like-minded people who love what they do, are committed to taking great ideas forward and making beautiful things.  If making money’s your only motive for getting out of bed each morning then best of luck to you.   I did that for far too long until finally I realised that no matter what I earned a basic creative hunger went unsatisfied and I needed to rethink my uncreative life.

I get that working for large corporations where profit’s all that matters, interns should be paid, but creative design internships are very different. If you start to put a monetary value on everything you do in life then no one would achieve half the uneconomical but satisfying stuff they do.

Which is why I love interiors.  Because ultimately transforming space that isn’t working, creating beauty out of unloved junk and adding warmth, colour and cosiness to dull magnolia space is ultimately priceless. It can change your mood by adding atmosphere and laughter to a space that’s cold, has little personality and can seem a little lost.

Off to give Juliana copy for Nordic Black’s Style School in February and buy some vintage chairs to paint. Dates are currently 14th , 21st  and 28th February from 10 to 2.30 at my home in South Edinburgh.  The cost is £60 for a morning on how to Get the look you want for less, Cosy up your home with colour and Create stunning vintage pieces from inexpensive, broken junk.  Coffee and homemade lunch are all included with an option to enjoy something sparkling at the end at a local vintage shop.

Image

