When bad interiors happen to good people

Tomorrow Fiona Reid is interviewing me and photographing my home.  How I wish I’d gone for runs all week and foregone the umpteenth pair of jeans I’ve bought this year for drop dead gorgeous bathroom chandeliers.  Suddenly my home feels naked.  Devoid of layers and subtle vignettes of designer chic.  More vintage chav than vintage sav.  There’s nothing here to showcase my interior design talents and the whole thing is going to be a disaster.  I need to sound accomplished and look impossibly gorgeous whilst appearing not to give a damn.  So I do what all interior stylists in my position do and enlist the help of an infinitely better one.

Tatiana is a friend of Juli’s my graphic designer, and is currently styling an Edinburgh supermodel’s home.  I’m grateful to receive all her interior cast offs and don’t really care what she does to the place so long as something improves (even if it’s just my self esteem).

There’s nothing worse than knowing how good your pad could look for  photoshoots if only said item were in stock and you had a couple of extra grand in the bank.  I’d love to ditch my budget but fear my bank may well ditch me.  And with Christmas round the corner (never cheap when you have children) I’m frankly terrified.  There’s iPads, iPods and ‘I just can’t keep up or afford all this’ to get.  Last year I bought them everything so this year I’ve read my kids the riot act. I’m terrified of reading either’s Christmas lists which my daughter’s just informed me she has pinned to her noticeboard.  As if things weren’t bad enough financially her birthday’s 6 days later.

I take a sneak peek and what I read brings me to tears.

“I wish . . .” Ama’s Christmas and Birthday Wish List.

I wish . . .

1. to be happy

I wish  . . . cost of it: £0.00

2. to be loved

I wish  . . . cost of it: £0.00

3. to have people that I care about surrounding me

I wish  . . . cost of it: £0.00

4. to get hugs and kisses from family members and friends

I wish  . . . cost of it: £0.00

5. to let god shine above me

I wish  . . . cost of it: £0.00

6. to be more grateful

I wish  . . . cost of it: £0.00

7. to not be spoilt

I wish  . . . cost of it: £0.00

8. to laugh

I wish  . . . cost of it: £0.00

9. for my heart to explode with love, care, laughter, happiness and grace

I wish  . . . cost of it: £0.00

10. to have tears of joy filling my eyes

I wish  . . . cost of it: £0.00

11. to make everybody else happy

I wish  . . . cost of it: £0.00

12. to be helpful

I wish  . . . cost of it: £0.00

I’m the proudest mum on earth right now and thank my lucky starts there is a god.

Ama’s bedroom in need of crystal chandelier
