Rooms with a theme and a thank you

A huge thank you to everyone who clicked through to Nordic Black from the link on Abigail Ahern’s comments page yesterday.  It means the world to me that people are interested in my concept of making everyday items readily available in black as well as silk flowers and berries and eventually easy to wear workout pieces like leggings and white long sleeve tops.

The idea behind the venture is to source everyday products (candles, napkins, teatowels, tableware, silk flowers and berries, leggings) in one online store and brochure.  I’m tired of paying a fortune for sturdy leggings that flatter my legs or next to nothing for fashionware that falls apart after a handful of washes.  I also struggle to find black objects on the High street or Ikea.  And since 2 good friends have recently opened interiors stores, I hope to compliment my capsule black collection with stunning lighting, eclectic finds and larger upcycled vintage pieces like painted fireplaces and Victorian tables.

My original plan was to do this online, but Abigail’s retail masterclass advises that a successful interiors business needs a bricks and mortar shop . . . preferably on the high street . . . to showcase vintage finds and create a ‘must have’ buzz.  I should feel sick with worry but instead feel strangely calm.  I’d like a store in London where risk and opportunities are greater and perhaps a store in Copenhagen where I fail to visit my mother and brother as frequently as I’d like.

My obsession with silk flowers began last year when I decided to add some roses to a pair of black horn champagne buckets from Acanthus.  I couldn’t get enough of them after that, but I wanted ink black blueberries and blackberries to add to my predominantly green and burnt orange arrangements.  I love the way silk flowers transform a room with pops of colour.  The way white tulips and magnolias add sophistication to a black table.  When I first moved to Woodlands I planted tons of wisteria which takes forever to flourish, so imagine my delight when I discover vast silk bunches of it which I soon heaped all over the place.

Silk wisteria and Vivienne Westwood cushion
Silk wisteria and Vivienne Westwood cushion
Burnt orange poppies with raspberries (Acanthus)
Burnt orange poppies with raspberries (Acanthus)

Regular viewers of my posts know that I’m selling my home to live my creative dream.  I had my first viewings yesterday and next week have a Scotland on Sunday shoot and interview.  Silk flowers are a godsend for things like that.  No trips to the florists to refresh tired blooms allows me extra time to clean and concentrate on putting final touches to the visual interior stories I’m developing.

My sons room now has an underwater theme.  Complete with LED Jellyfish light from Casa Morada arriving in January and Mermaid picture to replace a Rabbit print by Catherine Rayner.

Underwater theme (Oxford Blue)
Underwater theme (Oxford Blue)
Jellyfish LED chandelier
Jellyfish LED chandelier
Mermaid
Mermaid

I’m also planning posts on “Black Swans and vintage finds” and ‘Making room for Ugly Ducklings”.  The swan chairs arrive tomorrow and I’m adding the finishing touches to some silk reeds and grasses.  Styling for interior shoots is one of my favourite aspects of the job.  Now I just need to find the perfect shop.

