Money can’t buy you love

Haven’t got much done today because I’m finalising my logo.  The colours chose themselves but it’s surprisingly difficult to decide which words should be white, whether to have a tagline and which fonts or image to use.  Luckily, Juliana my graphic designer (DeSygnme) does what I tell her then adds her own twist.  This always brings my mundane ideas to life in ways I could never have expected.

People often ask me the difference between a stylist and a designer.  Designers study their craft whereas I beg, borrow or steal ideas and occasionally make my own stuff.  Even beautiful expensive things have flaws the interior, lighting or product designer chooses to overlook.  My job, as a stylist, is to improve these or make them a feature.  My best ideas take months or years to put together.  I never know what works but everyday I experiment with stuff I love until I get that ‘Eureka’ moment.

Woodlands overlooking garden inspired by David Hockney
Woodlands overlooking garden inspired by David Hockney

Often pieces choose me.  I like broken things, stuff that doesn’t work, lamps that need rewiring and when it comes to art the more distressed and battered the frame the better. I love trunks that have a history – a mysterious stranger’s faded initials etched into the woodwork.

Recalimed trunk with silk Hydrangea
Reclaimed trunk with silk Hydrangea

I don’t like shiny new things because I don’t have time to polish.  I’m not perfect so I don’t expect my home to be.  A home should be lived in.  If you want to make a statement buy a car or expensive jewellery.  Homes aren’t suited to perfection.  They need to be lived in.  Perfection unnerves me a little.  Which is why I’m not a designer.

A stylist doesn’t mind this photo of my TV room with a remote control visible on the day bed.  A designer would.

Woodlands TV room
Woodlands TV room

At school I was the only mixed race girl in the class.  I don’t know how I made it to university but I do know nothing worth doing or experiencing is easy and nothing worth having is mass produced.  When it comes to interiors you can’t buy the look you’re after because rooms that work are happy accidents.  Interiors shouldn’t be perfect because there’s nothing wrong with failure.  I do sell items from my years of collecting stuff, but the key decisions and pieces you’ll have to make and find for yourself.

