Let There Be Light

Today my electrician arrives to fit dimmer switches.  Finally I have the lighting I deserve – flattering, moody, instantly changeable (bit like me).

Artichoke chandelier in copper
Artichoke chandelier in copper

Good lighting is instant botox for the face and liposuction for the body.  Without it the hottest colour, painting, armchair or stool looks drab and uninspired.  Floral arrangements transform into sculptures once you light them in an interesting way.  I love vases of simple white tulips or wisteria sitting on perspex tables lit by low hanging chandeliers.

Silk wisteria and tulips, Acanthus
Silk wisteria and tulips, Acanthus
Chandelier overhanging white silk tulips
Chandelier overhanging white silk tulips

I do this all over my house especially in bathrooms where lighting can be tricky, so most people choose harsh downlighting by default.  I’m always threatening to rip out the hideous bathroom tiles inherited from my developer.  But I’ve finally decided to ‘make do and mend’ by painting the walls dark and adding draped curtains to add a touch of luxury to a dark interior space.

My next post ‘Get the Look you want’ illustrates the above point in detail.  Because with interiors (as in life) there is always more than one solution to every problem.  The fun is deciding which best suits your needs (and budget) at a particular moment in time.

